Irish Pony Society National Awards Night 2019

The Irish Pony Society held their annual awards celebration on Sunday 3rd November in the Killashee Hotel, Naas.  There was a very large turnout with over 210 members in attendance to celebrate the achievements of their members for the 2019 season.  Members from the 8 IPS regions, Cork, Kildare/North Leinster, Limerick/Clare, Northern, South Leinster/Waterford, Tipperary, Wicklow and the Western Area were in attendance and enjoyed the relaxed party atmosphere.

Entertainment took a new format this year with a balloon artist wandering through the tables creating balloon animals, crowns and swords for all the children. The photo booth with its array of costumes had adults and children striking poses all evening.

Over the next few hours riders excitedly accepted their awards in over 90 categories, energetically clapping for eachother and smiling for photos with Council members who happily presented the awards.

After an enthusiastic speech by Chairperson Mr Peter Molloy, where he congratulated the members and reminisced on the season’s highlights, over 400 awards were presented to eager recipients.

The Top Category Awards were presented to Charlotte Kelly in the Show Pony category with her pony, Chagford Leon.  Mini Show Hunter 2019 was won by Kate Lawlor with her pony, Amesbury Queen Bee.  Kate also won the Overall Performance Jumping category.  Hannah Mackey won overall Starter Stakes 2019 with her pony, Bunbury Saurez.  Lennon Maloney had a very successful year as he won Overall Mini Working Hunter Pony and Irish Bred 2019 with his pony, Tabita Mini Minx.  Lily Nadir had a great first year with the IPS by winning both the Intermediate Pony 2019 and Performance Working Hunter Pony 2019 with her pony, Mullentine Sure Diamond.  Lara Field was presented with the Coloured Pony 2019 for her brilliant year on Creganna Dancer.  Aimee Dugan took home two Overall Awards by winning the Ridden Connemara Pony 2019 and the Ridden M&M 2019 with her pony, Miss Hillary, while the Mini M&M section was won by Jack Kelly with his pony, Rookery Haribo.  Josh Williamson took home the Overall Novice Pony 2019 for his successful year on his new mount, Seapatrick Peregrine.  Tekka Whelan was presented with the Overall Part-Bred Award with her pony, Leap Rascal.  Sarah Keane, who had just moved up to large ponies, won the Connemara WHP Pony of the Year with her pony, Lon Mac Liomhtha.

Pippa Durham was presented with the Arran Bobby 2019 with her home-bred Connemara, Jim Delaney.  Pippa also won the Working Hunter Pony 2019 and was also awarded the Pinkeen Trophy for Overall Girl Rider at the Championship Show.  With only one point between brothers Ned and Jasper Kelly, Jasper was presented with the Carew Cup for the Overall Boy Rider at the Championship Show.

Show Pony Youngstock was presented to Michael Galvin for his young colt, Malbay Georgie Boy, while Lady Nesta FitzGerald was presented with the Overall Broodmare Award for her mare, Brandon Brief Encounter’s achievements.

The International Award was presented to Amber Marnane for her brilliant win in the 143cms Working Hunter at HOYS this summer.  The Brandon Achievement Award was presented by the FitzGerald family to Ellie McDonell, with The Working Hunter Committee presenting Anna Byrne the Inspirational Award as the rider who inspired the younger riders the most throughout 2019.

The highlight of the evening was the presentation of the two overall awards.  The Overall Points Winner was presented to Charlotte Kelly for her achievements throughout the year on Tara Kelly’s, Chagford Leon and accepted the Mansergh Wallace Tray from Chairperson, Mr Peter Molloy.  Champion Pony of the Year was awarded to Moscombe Cheeky Girl, owned by Karen Reynolds Grenham and presented to Julia Mulligan  for her very successful season.

A disco rounded off the night with all the younger children dancing wildly and winning lots of prizes, with parents joining in the fun around the dance floor.  The Irish Pony Society had a very successful year in 2019 with members winning classes at the Europeans held in Wales, the RDS in Dublin, BSPS in Grantham and winning at HOYS and would like to thank all its members for their support at our shows throughout the year.  We look forward to seeing our members in the Spring and welcoming new members to the Society.

Please click HERE to view Awards presented on the night.